The municipality of Aurora envisioned to be a peace-loving, self-reliant, progressive, agro-industrial/commercial and eco-tourism with balanced ecology sustained by God-centered and empowered citizenry.


To earnestly continue the implementation of projects, plan and programs that cater to the basic needs of the populace which are on the pipelines while pursuing persistently the fund sourcing of those in the blueprint to attain a self-sufficient constituency with comfortable standard of living. To maintain and sustain a peaceful climate and vigorously pursue the beautification projects in line with the clean and green programs to become a tourist destination in the road map of the province tourism venture and the entire united community are business friendly.

Aurora is a 2nd class municipality in the province of Zamboanga del Sur, Philippines. Aurora is politically subdivided into 44 barangays. These are Acad, Alang-alang, Alegria, Anonang, Bagong Mandaue, Bagong Maslog, Bagong Oslob, Bagong Pitogo, Baki, Balas, Balide, Balintawak, Bayabas, Bemposa, Cabilinan, Campo Uno, Ceboneg, Commonwealth, Gubaan, Inasagan, Inroad, Kahayagan East (Katipunan), Kahayagan West, Kauswagan, La Paz (Tinibtiban), La Victoria, Lantungan, Libertad, Lintugop, Lubid, Maguikay, Mahayahay, Monte Alegre, Montela, Napo, Panaghiusa, Poblacion, Resthouse, Romarate, San Jose, San Juan, Sapa Loboc, Tagulalo and Waterfall.

Aurora is the easternmost municipality in Zamboanga del Sur bounded by the province of Lanao del Norte on its eastern side. The town was named after President Manuel Quezon's wife, Aurora Quezon. It was created on October 12, 1942 through the Legislative Enactment by Congress.

Population of Aurora as of August 1, 2015 from Philippine Statistics Authority
Acad 1,064
Alang-alang 695
Alegria 355
Anonang 1,854
Bagong Mandaue 414
Bagong Maslog 661
Bagong Oslob 636
Bagong Pitogo 388
Baki 333
Balas 1,746
Balide 1,368
Balintawak 1,520
Bayabas 1,415
Bemposa 544
Cabilinan 982
Campo Uno 1,468
Ceboneg 370
Commonwealth 1,006
Gubaan 1,909
Inasagan 817
Inroad 442
Kahayagan East (Katipunan) 1,097
Kahayagan West 815
Kauswagan 650
La Paz (Tinibtiban) 735
La Victoria 927
Lantungan 1,698
Libertad 1,964
Lintugop 2,564
Lubid 585
Maguikay 681
Mahayahay 764
Monte Alegre 1,155
Montela 734
Napo 200
Panaghiusa 473
Poblacion 6,851
Resthouse 588
Romarate 1,544
San Jose 3,306
San Juan 613
Sapa Loboc 1,310
Tagulalo 856
Waterfall 658
TOTAL 50,755