The LGU of Dimataling envisions itself as an agriculturally productive town, actively soaring high in development and economic prosperity in the province of Zamboanga del Sur.


The LGU of Dimataling sets its mission as follows: Optimize and maximize all available resources and at the sometimes harness all positive forces; Provide infrastructure and livelihood programs and other sustainable income generating projects; Developed and enhanced environment friendly and self-reliant divergent culture.

Dimataling is a 4th class municipality in the province of Zamboanga del Sur, Philippines. Dimataling is administratively subdivided into 24 barangays. These are Bacayawan, Baha, Balanagan, Baluno, Binuay, Buburay, Grap, Josefina, Kagawasan, Lalab, Libertad, Magahis, Mahayag, Mercedes, Poblacion, Saloagan, San Roque, Sugbay Uno, Sumbato, Sumpot, Tinggabulong, Tiniguangan, Tipangi and Upper Ludiong.

Dimataling was created in 1950 from the barrios of Dinas, Legarda, Mirapao, Migpulao, Kalipapa, Pisaan, Bubway, Tiniguangan, Tabina and Dimataling from Pagadian City (not yet at city at that time) and the barrios of Punta Flecha, Pitogo, Qugbay, Balong-balong, Libertad and Dumanguilas from Margosatubig.

Population of Dimataling as of August 1, 2015 from Philippine Statistics Authority
Bacayawan 1,591
Baha 407
Balanagan 1,095
Baluno 884
Binuay 1,913
Buburay 1,478
Grap 984
Josefina 693
Kagawasan 2,731
Lalab 579
Libertad 1,137
Magahis 347
Mahayag 915
Mercedes 433
Poblacion 4,347
Saloagan 2,367
San Roque 524
Sugbay Uno 1,134
Sumbato 768
Sumpot 1,785
Tinggabulong 1,377
Tiniguangan 1,514
Tipangi 659
Upper Ludiong 419
TOTAL 30,081