A self-reliant, self-sufficient, progressive and sustainable Municipality of Dumalinao, where its people live peacefully in co-existence in an ecologically sound environment and enjoying a healthy and improved quality of life governed by a competent leadership.


The Local Government Unit of Dumalinao together with its stakeholders commits to work concertedly in the realization of its vision by harnessing and sustaining agri-industrial based economic programs, cultivating local enterprise potentials and protecting the natural resources through sound fiscal management, competent human resources and the infusion of modern technological innovations.

Legal Basis

Republic Act No. 1593 (initially House Bill No. 5000) was the legal basis for the creation of Dumalinao as a municipality from a barrio. Then Congressman Alberto Q. Ubay of Zamboanga del Norte and Elado of Negros Occidental sponsored House Bill No. 5000, which later became RA 1593 (Annex 1). The said bill was unanimously approved by the senators and was finally signed into law by then President Ramon M. Magsaysay on 16 June 1956.

Political Background

Initially, appointed officials were the administrators of the new municipality. These appointees were Martin D. Raluto as mayor, Guillermo Talaid as the vice mayor, Vincente T. Labrado, Severino Ramos, Fulgencio Laug-laug and Eniego Gemina (did not serve) as the councilors of the new municipality.

On 01 August 1956, Mayor Raluto formally organized the local government with Gregorio E. Descallar as the Municipal Treasurer, Jose Villaflor as the Chief of Police, Gabao D. Talpis as the Municipal Secretary and Solomon M. Talpis as the Market Collector. Dumalinao was formally inaugurated on 16 September 1956.

Mayor Raluto was re-elected as mayor during the next local elections. However, his untimely death on 11 June 1969 ended his reign. By law of succession, the Vice Mayor Edmundo V. Dalid assumed office as municipal mayor.


"Dumalinao" has been derived from a "Subanen" sentence. The "Subanen" meaning of Dumalinao can be categorized by syllable: 1. Duma - meaning companion, comrade or a friend; 2. Dlinao - meaning a deep portion of the river, where the water seems to stand still; 3. linao - meaning still, motionless, trouble-free, peace, joy and tranquility. As a whole, Dumalinao means people of a place living peacefully with love, united in peace.

Historians trace that the origin of "Dumalinao" occurred when a stranger misquoted a Subanen sentence from a mother. Accordingly, a mother was calling her children in the dialect "Hoy! Doma namo dlinao-o-o! Oli namo hoy! Mbaloy p' mma mo dli-nao-o-o." The said children were busy playing alongside the creek. Then the stranger heard the mother and ask the said woman the same of the place. The woman, thinking she was asked what she is shouting at, said "Aww! P'towaagan ho doma na dlinao hin." The stranger, without understanding the woman, asked the woman, Domadlinao? The woman nodded and the stranger left repeating domal-dlinao, domadlinao, domdlinao, domalinao. As the stranger walked, he met another resident and asked, "Is this place Domadlinao or Domalinao? The resident also nodded, without understanding the language. The stranger went on, believing he got the correct answer to his question.

Geographical Location

The Municipality of Dumalinao lies within 123017' to 123023'E longitude and 7045' to 7052'N latitude. It is bounded on the northwest by the City of Pagadian, on the northeast by the Municipality of Tigbao, on the southeast by the Municipality of Guipos and on the south by the Municipality of San Pablo. Dumalinao is approximately nine (9) kilometers northwest of Pagadian City, the capital of the province.

Population of Dumalinao as of August 1, 2015 from Philippine Statistics Authority
Bag-ong Misamis 231
Baga 1,069
Bag-ong Silao 967
Baloboan 631
Banta-ao 334
Bibilik 1,506
Calingayan 803
Camalig 583
Camanga 1,669
Cuatro-cuatro 442
Locuban 1,077
Malasik 656
Mama (San Juan) 958
Matab-ang 511
Mecolong 1,212
Metokong 703
Motosawa 653
Pag-asa (Pob.) 864
Paglaum (Pob.) 2,487
Pantad 988
Piniglibano 673
Rebokon 3,210
San Agustin 1,008
Sibucao 1,481
Sumadat 2,779
Tikwas 1,538
Tina 897
Tubo-Pait 554
Upper Dumalinao 526
Anonang 1,003
TOTAL 32,013