Tabina is a municipality of God-fearing, progressive, self-sustaining, and peace-loving people. As a pro-people LGU, it ensures sustainable programs on water, agriculture, education, infrastructure, housing, eco-tourism and wholesome, peaceful and healthy environment. 


The municipality of Tabina commits to enhance the living standard of the populace through prolific coordination of sound programs bind vigorously to pursue the realization of the vision. 

Tabina is a 4th class municipality in the province of Zamboanga del Sur, Philippines. It is the southernmost town in the Province of Zamboanga del Sur, facing the area wherein the waters of Illana Bay flows out to the Cotabato Sea. Tabina is politically subdivided into 15 barangays. These are Abong-abong, Baganian, Baya-baya, Capisan, Concepcion, Culabay, Dona Josefina, Lumbia, Mabuhay, Malim, Manicaan, New Oroquieta, Poblacion, San Francisco and Tultolan.

Tabina was carved out of the Municipality of Dimataling on August 16, 1961 by virtue of Executive Order No. 443 signed by the President Carlos P. Garcia. Upon its creation, Tabina has twelve (12) barangays which comprised its original territory. These are Abong-abong, Baganian, Bayabaya, Culabay, Concepcion, Poblacion, Malim, Mabuhay, Manicaan, Limbayan, Lumbia and Tultolan. However, new barangays were later created. Thease are Capisan, Dona Josefina, New Oroquita and San Francisco. But when the Municipality of Pitogo was created, barangay Limbayan was detached from the Municipality of Tabina to be added to the former, thus, bringing the total number of fifteen (15) barangays within its jurisdiction.

Before Tabina became a municipality of Zamboanga del Sur, it was just one of the Sitios of Dimataling, Zamboanga del Sur. A man by the name of Gregorio Yanoc Ramis took it upon himself and with determination campaigned to promote Tabina to become a Barrio or Barangay of Dimataling. Gregorio Yanoc Ramis was appointed as the first Capitan del Barrio or Tenyente del Barrio. As Tabina progressed and the population increased, he pursued his vision to have Tabina become a town or municipality of Zamboanga del Sur. So he travelled back and forth to Dimataling by Banka or Canoe to represent the people of Tabina. His determination and selfless efforts convinced the government to convert Tabina into a municipality. Antonio Adaptar was appointed as the first mayor of Tabina. Gregorio Yanoc Ramis was the signature and energy that made Tabina, Zamboanga del Sur. The name Tabina was derived from many interpretations. From the Subanen settlers "tabi maya o", a polite Subanen expression meaning "excuse me". The optimistic inhabitants also "tabi una", with the same meaning "excuse me" is frequently heard. Immigrants on the other hand, possessing uncharitable tongues as "binga" which another set of muslim called "ubina". As time went by, Christian immigrants in search of greener pasture both on land and on sea chanced to pass by this place. Inquiring about the name of the place, they always hear "bina" in response. These Christian settlers modified the word "bina" to "Tabina" and the word was changed ever since.

Population of Tabina as of August 1, 2015 from Philippine Statistics Authority
Abong-abong 2,136
Baganian 3,121
Baya-baya 1,190
Capisan 744
Concepcion 1,185
Culabay 1,899
Doña Josefina 829
Lumbia 769
Mabuhay 1,878
Malim 2,820
Manikaan 987
New Oroquieta 718
Poblacion 5,392
San Francisco 720
Tultolan 673
TOTAL 25,061