It is the vision of the municipality of Tigbao to become self-reliant and self-sufficient in the near future through massive, sustainable and balanced socio-economic stability, physical development, ecologically sound, where its people live in peaceful and progressive quality of life.


The LGU of Tigbao, Zamboanga del Sur shall institute good local governance, enhance efficient administration, promote social justice, provides basic services, ensure proper management and utilization of its natural capability and maintain peace and order. 

TIGBAO is a Subanen dialect of a grass which means "BUGANG" in Cebuano, thickly growing and spreading in the area un-inhabited by people. Tracing from the history of the present town, it was the early native settlers of the scattered community who gave the name of what is now the municipality of Tigbao, whose fertile land facing towards the natural and attractive beauty of Mt. Timolan, the best haven of different wildlife species in the area, located some 29.0 kilometers away from the City of Pagadian, the site of the Provincial Capitol of Zamboanga del Sur.

In the succeeding years, Tigbao slowly changed in his natural beauty when the Visayans together with some ethnic groups followed trail of the pioneers and become a dominant figure in the area. With the joint efforts of civic minded people and other new immigrants from the different and undisclosed places of origin, Tigbao became a regular barrio of its mother municipality of Dumalinao in the province of Zamboanga del Sur.

For decades of its existence as a regular barangay, Tigbao proved to gain its worth and developed in a progressive unit of the municipality of Dumalinao. With the support and cooperation of the whole populace under the leadership of the late Rufo Sampitan, the donor of what is now the present town site where the municipal public market, municipal gymnasium, National High School and other municipal government establishment and facilities located.

Tigbao was created into a distinct municipality, in its creation and realization being competed and sponsored by Congressman Hon. Antonio H. Cerilles, representative, District II of Zamboanga del Sur, passing House Bill No. 241 and was finally approved by the bicameral house version by virtue of Republic Act 7162 signed by her Excellency President Corazon C. Aquino on November 08, 1991 thereby, giving and granting its independence and autonomy.

Municipality of Tigbao is the 26th municipality of the province of Zamboanga del Sur. It is comprises 18 barangays, taken and separated from its mother municipality of Dumalinao, namely: Poblacion Tigbao, Begong, Busol, Caluma, Diana countryside, Guinlin, Lacarayan, Lacupayan, Libayoy, Longmot, Nangan-nangan, Maragang, Mate, New Tuburan, Nilo, Timolan, Upper Nilo, with a land area of twelve thousand seven hundred seventy three hectares (12,773 ha.) and a densely populated by some fifteen thousand two hundred four (15, 204) in the census of population on calendar year 1990.

Population of Tigbao as of August 1, 2015 from Philippine Statistics Authority
Begong 3,359
Busol 714
Caluma 548
Diana Countryside 775
Guinlin 779
Lacarayan 985
Lacupayan 793
Libayoy 733
Limas 924
Longmot 1,131
Maragang 1,752
Mate 1,022
Nangan-nangan 683
New Tuburan 507
Nilo 1,630
Tigbao 2,875
Timolan 772
Upper Nilo 997
TOTAL 20,979